CORONAVIRUS PANDEMIC UPDATES & RESOURCES. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for the latest information.


Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
FPCACALEAThe Pinecrest Police Department was first awarded accredited status by the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA) on July 31, 2004. The Police Department has also been accredited by the Commission for Florida Accreditation since October of 2004.

On July 31, 2016, the department obtained Gold Standard Advanced Re-Accreditation from CALEA.

CALEA was established as an independent accrediting authority in 1979 by the four major law enforcement membership associations: International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP); National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives (NOBLE); National Sheriffs' Association (NSA); and Police Executive Research Forum (PERF). The Executive Directors of these four associations appoint members to the Commission annually. The Commission has 21 members; 11 members are law enforcement practitioners; the remaining 10 members are selected from the public and private sectors. Commissioners are appointed to a term of three years. The position of Commissioner is voluntary and receives no salary. CALEA maintains a small, professional staff managed by an Executive Director. The staff conducts all administrative and operational duties as directed by the Commission.

The Law Enforcement Accreditation Program is comprised of selected standards taken from the full complement of standards in the Advanced Law Enforcement Accreditation Program. These standards are subject to ongoing review and revision. When modifications are recommended, they are presented to the Commission's Standards Review and Interpretation Committee (SRIC) for consideration. If appropriate, SRIC approves draft language and then presents the draft to the Commission for their approval to publicize the proposed change for review and comment from the public safety community. Comments are referred back to the SRIC for consideration. The SRIC then makes a recommendation to the Commission for final approval.

The standards address six major law enforcement areas:

1. role, responsibilities, and relationships with other agencies;
2. organization, management, and administration;
3. personnel administration;
4. law enforcement operations, operational support, and traffic law enforcement;
5. detainee and court-related services; and
6. auxiliary and technical services.

The standards help law enforcement agencies:

• strengthen crime prevention and control capabilities;
• formalize essential management procedures;
• establish fair and nondiscriminatory personnel practices;
• improve service-delivery;
• solidify interagency cooperation and coordination; and
• boost citizen and staff confidence in the agency.


Agencies that seek accreditation are required to comply only with those standards that are specifically applicable to them. Applicability is based on two factors: an agency's size and the functions it performs. Applicable standards are categorized as mandatory or other-than-mandatory. Agencies must comply with all applicable mandatory standards and 80% of applicable other-than-mandatory standards. If an agency cannot comply with a standard because of legislation, labor agreements, court orders, or case law, waivers can be sought from the Commission.